d20 d&d custom to hit

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
22 replies to this topic

#1 wer_dragan

wer_dragan

• Ace Member
  • 17 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:26 AM

Hi! I'm new to the RPM scene and I'm having some trouble getting my formulae to work the way I want, and I was hoping for some help.

I'm currently using the Victor's Custom Hit Formula and N.A.S.T.Y. Extra Stats scripts, and I'm trying to recreate a formula that emulates a Dungeons and Dragons attack roll.

Spoiler

I've been trying to emulate this by incorporating AC as new stat via the N.A.S.T.Y. Extra Stats scrips and then using a formula like <hit formula> rand(20) + a.atk > b.xstats.ac </hit formula>, but I'll be the first to admit that my knowledge of Ruby scripting and formulae is woefully inadequate, and I can't seem to find information specifically about how to write formulae properly. Any help on coming up with a script that will do this (or better yet, a formula that will work with the scripts I have) would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thank you all for your time, consideration, and aid!

#2 ekomega

ekomega

Advanced Member

• Ace Member
  • 268 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 04:37 PM

With victor's custom hit and the extra stats, I'd put this in his tags, and maybe change it to

<hit formula>

1+rand(20) +a.atk >= b.xstats.ac

</hit formula>

I'm not sure how exactly the syntax works out with that, but it should return true (hit) if the equation is valid, otherwise, it returns false (miss).  Then your damage in the normal skill damage box would be 1+rand(6) or whatever.

Why not just use the normal defense stat as AC, and ignore extra stats?  Then it would just be:

<hit formula>

1+rand(20) +a.atk >= b.def

</hit formula>

And you're a.atk should be reasonable, like 1-20 (like DnD).

Edited by ekomega, 25 January 2013 - 04:43 PM.

#3 wer_dragan

wer_dragan

• Ace Member
  • 17 posts

Posted 26 January 2013 - 12:55 AM

Thanks! Is the extra 1 in

<hit formula>