15 replies to this topic

#1 Neroxus

Neroxus

• Ace Member
  • 1 posts
  • LocationWales,UK
  • RM Skill - Designer

Posted 13 May 2012 - 03:13 AM

Hello everyone this is my first time posting in this forums, I am new to Rpg Maker but have fallen in love with it the instant I started it up for the first time.

I am not that knowledgeable yet I understand how some elements work and learning about the others.

But my query is a pokemon style game and is there a way to create one.

the real problem I am having is the battle system I want sprites aka monsters to fight in the hero's place but I see no way to do it

and also this game will not be of profitable gains as it is just a game I am making for a friend for his birthday

so anyway please help if you can

Ben

#2 Tsukihime

Tsukihime

Advanced Member

• Ace Member
  • 6,240 posts
  • LocationToronto
  • RM Skill - Coder

Awards Bar:

Users Awards

Posted 13 May 2012 - 08:04 AM

Well sure there is a way...whether it's easy is another question.
My Scripts. Go here for Bugs and Requests.

himeworks011.png

Like on Facebook: HimeWorks
Follow on Twitter: @HimeWorks

#3 Syndicate

Syndicate

Omnomnom

• Ace Member
  • 106 posts
  • LocationUnited Kingdom
  • RM Skill - Writer

Posted 13 May 2012 - 08:41 AM

Battle system, item system, catching system, releasing system, pc/storage system, gym leader system, elite 4 system, all your sprites and tilesets, all your sounds and pokemon... It's possible, but it's long term project, and would require a lot of custom scripting and work. You'd probably need a team for it, not to mention Nintendo's permission if it's going to be commercial.

In short: Yep, possible. There's actually a basic dev kit for XP that is a pokemon starter kit. Or, there was. Not sure if it's still around.

Posted Image

Posted Image

#4 Obrusnine

Obrusnine

The Idea Man

• + Premium Members
  • 2,594 posts
  • LocationTonawanda, New York
  • RM Skill - Writer

Posted 13 May 2012 - 10:40 AM