33 replies to this topic

#1 gamers694

gamers694

Advanced Member

• Ace Member
  • 167 posts
  • RM Skill - Jack of All Trades

Posted 29 June 2012 - 01:15 PM

Hello, i am new to rpg maker, i've only completed just a single map with some events. I heard about parallax mapping, that its very good and useful but takes much time to learn. So i wanted to ask that is parallax mapping good for beginners?????.

Should beginners go straight to parallax mapping and practice that in place of mapping done in the editor???

#2 Lasci

Lasci

• Ace Member
  • 13 posts
  • LocationBFE, Illinois

Posted 29 June 2012 - 01:24 PM

Few things to recognize about parallax mapping:

1. It takes a helluva lot longer than RTP tile mapping would, especially if you have minimal experience with Photoshop or another image editing software.

2. There are complaints that a large number of parallax'd maps will increase file size. A lot of people disagree with this, though; yes, the files are larger, but it doesn't seem to make that huge of a difference.

3. It can be counterproductive if you don't know what you're doing. Clutter, lighting effects, and collision issues can crop up on the designer and ruin an otherwise simple project if it were done as RTP.

That said, take a look at these threads if you're interested in learning exactly how to do this.
http://www.rpgmakerv...showtopic=36589
http://www.rpgrevolu...showtopic=51490
http://www.rpgrevolu...showtopic=52445
http://www.rpgmakerv...showtopic=52756
http://www.rpgmakerv...showtopic=42078

Edited by Lasci, 29 June 2012 - 01:27 PM.

#3 gamers694

gamers694

Advanced Member

• Ace Member
  • 167 posts

Posted 29 June 2012 - 01:29 PM

Thanx for all ur help but i wanted to make things faster and with decent quality and i think rpg maker can do it very easily (also i don't have much experience with image editing softwares) so.... i think i should stick with mapping in editor. Just wanted to hear what people think. Any ways thanx. :D

#4 Chaos17